close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Neuroscience Café

UAB Presents: Your Brain on Fire

2017-05-25 18:30:00 2017-05-25 19:30:00 America/Chicago Neuroscience Café Inflammation is your body’s first line of defense against infection and injury and normally shuts down after healing occurs. Homewood

Thursday, May 25
6:30pm - 7:30pm

Add to Calendar 2017-05-25 18:30:00 2017-05-25 19:30:00 America/Chicago Neuroscience Café Inflammation is your body’s first line of defense against infection and injury and normally shuts down after healing occurs. Homewood

Homewood

Round Auditorium

Inflammation is your body’s first line of defense against infection and injury and normally shuts down after healing occurs.

But trouble can arise when the inflammation process gets stuck “on” and doesn’t know when to stop. Then inflammation can turn on your body, attacking healthy cells, blood vessels, and tissues instead of protecting them. You can develop chronic inflammation anywhere in the body — including the brain. Unlike the inflammation of an injury or arthritis, brain inflammation doesn’t cause pain since the brain has no pain receptors. Chronic inflammation can lead to all sorts of seemingly unrelated problems including allergies, asthma, autoimmune diseases, chronic infections, colitis, dermatitis, sinusitis, arthritis, and any other health condition that ends in “itis.” It’s been dubbed a silent killer since it contributes to seven of the top ten leading causes of death. Join us and ind out what can be done to reverse inflammation of your brain.

Homewood

hcover@bham.lib.al.us
Phone: 205-332-6600

Hours
Mon, Apr 16 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Apr 17 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Apr 18 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Thu, Apr 19 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Apr 20 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Apr 21 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Apr 22 2:00PM to 6:00PM

About this Library

Founded in 1941, the award-winning Homewood Public Library offers books, movies, music and lots of great programming for all ages. We also have fantastic online resources, including databases, ebooks, and streaming media.

Upcoming events

Sun, Apr 22, All day

Mon, Apr 23, All day

Round Auditorium
Mon, Apr 23, 10:30am - 11:00am

Round Auditorium
Mon, Apr 23, 3:30pm - 4:30pm

Room 102
Mon, Apr 23, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Room 101
Mon, Apr 23, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Round Auditorium
Mon, Apr 23, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Tue, Apr 24, All day

Round Auditorium
Tue, Apr 24, 9:30am - 10:00am

Round Auditorium
Tue, Apr 24, 10:30am - 11:00am

Rescheduled
Tue, Apr 24, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
New date Tuesday, April 24, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Large Auditorium
Tue, Apr 24, 3:30pm - 5:30pm

Room 106
Tue, Apr 24, 5:30pm - 6:30pm

Boardroom
Tue, Apr 24, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Room 101
Tue, Apr 24, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
This event is full

Tue, Apr 24, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Wed, Apr 25, All day

Round Auditorium
Wed, Apr 25, 10:30am - 11:00am

Boardroom
Wed, Apr 25, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Round Auditorium
Wed, Apr 25, 3:30pm - 4:15pm

Room 102
Wed, Apr 25, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Registration is now closed

Thu, Apr 26, All day

Round Auditorium
Thu, Apr 26, 9:30am - 10:00am

Round Auditorium
Thu, Apr 26, 10:30am - 11:00am

Computer Training Lab
Thu, Apr 26, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
This event is full

Boardroom
Thu, Apr 26, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Round Auditorium
Thu, Apr 26, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Large Auditorium
Thu, Apr 26, 6:30pm - 7:15pm

Fri, Apr 27, All day

Round Auditorium
Fri, Apr 27, 10:30am - 11:00am

Large Auditorium
Fri, Apr 27, 6:30pm - 9:00pm

Sat, Apr 28, All day

Round Auditorium
Sat, Apr 28, 10:30am - 11:00am

Sun, Apr 29, All day

Large Auditorium
Mon, Apr 30, 10:00am - 11:00am

Round Auditorium
Mon, Apr 30, 10:00am - 11:00am

Round Auditorium
Tue, May 01, 9:30am - 10:00am

Round Auditorium
Tue, May 01, 10:30am - 11:00am

Room 102
Tue, May 01, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Round Auditorium
Thu, May 03, 10:30am - 11:15am

Large Auditorium
Thu, May 03, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Boardroom
Thu, May 03, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Round Auditorium
Thu, May 03, 6:30pm - 7:00pm

Children's Department
Fri, May 04, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Room 102
Sat, May 05, 9:30am - 4:00pm

Large Auditorium
Sat, May 05, 9:30am - 1:30pm

Sat, May 05, 6:00pm - 6:30pm

Round Auditorium
Mon, May 07, 10:00am - 11:00am

Large Auditorium
Mon, May 07, 10:00am - 11:00am

Round Auditorium
Mon, May 07, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Large Auditorium
Mon, May 07, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Round Auditorium
Tue, May 08, 9:30am - 10:00am

Round Auditorium
Tue, May 08, 10:30am - 11:00am

Round Auditorium
Tue, May 08, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Computer Training Lab
Tue, May 08, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Round Auditorium
Tue, May 08, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Computer Training Lab
Tue, May 08, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Round Auditorium
Wed, May 09, 10:30am - 11:00am

Large Auditorium
Wed, May 09, 2:30pm - 4:00pm

Round Auditorium
Thu, May 10, 10:30am - 11:15am

Room 101
Thu, May 10, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Computer Training Lab
Thu, May 10, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Round Auditorium
Thu, May 10, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Round Auditorium
Fri, May 11, 10:30am - 11:00am

Large Auditorium
Fri, May 11, 1:00pm - 3:30pm

Large Auditorium
Sat, May 12, 9:30am - 4:30pm

Large Auditorium
Sun, May 13, 2:00pm - 5:30pm

Room 110
Sun, May 13, 3:30pm - 4:30pm

Large Auditorium
Mon, May 14, 10:00am - 11:00am

Large Auditorium
Mon, May 14, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Large Auditorium
Mon, May 14, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Room 116
Tue, May 15, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Computer Training Lab
Tue, May 15, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Room 102
Tue, May 15, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Large Auditorium
Tue, May 15, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Room 116
Tue, May 15, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Computer Training Lab
Tue, May 15, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Room 102
Wed, May 16, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Boardroom
Thu, May 17, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Boardroom
Thu, May 17, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Round Auditorium
Fri, May 18, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Children's Department
Mon, May 21, All day

Large Auditorium
Mon, May 21, 10:00am - 11:00am

Room 102
Mon, May 21, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Across from the Library
Mon, May 21, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Large Auditorium
Mon, May 21, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Children's Department
Tue, May 22, All day

Computer Training Lab
Tue, May 22, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Large Auditorium
Tue, May 22, 6:30pm - 7:30pm