Syndicate content
Literary news & reviews, Alabama authors, and book signings Movable Type Enterprise 4.29-advance
Updated: 1 hour 29 min ago

Dive into the new book 'Dauphin Island, Alabama'

Thu, 06/05/2014 - 1:17pm
Dauphin Island on your coffee table Tamara Ikenberg | tikenberg@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/Ikenberg/index.html

5 things you'll learn from Jeff Shaara's latest book, 'The Smoke At Dawn'

Thu, 06/05/2014 - 12:08pm
Author Jeff Shaara is scheduled to visit Homewood and Fairhope as part a book tour for the release of "The Smoke at Dawn." Josh Bean | jbean@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/jbean/index.html

Former 'Stripper King' brings morality message to troubled souls in 'The Devil's Glove'

Tue, 06/03/2014 - 12:46pm
Louis Agnello Jr., will sign copies of his novel Friday, June 6, at Page & Palette in Fairhope and Sunday, June 8, at Barnes & Noble at The Summit in Birmingham. Carol McPhail | cmcphail@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/carolmcphail/index.html

Alabama State University to host poetry reading memorial for Maya Angelou tonight

Mon, 06/02/2014 - 11:28am
During the free event, attendees will be able to hear live readings of Angelou's work in addition poems and other pieces by local writers. Attendees do not have to recite any writing to participate. Amber Sutton | asutton@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/AmberAcker/index.html

Red Clay Readers announce 'books to movies' summer reading series

Fri, 05/30/2014 - 2:55pm
During four, one-week sessions this summer, we will take a look at books by authors with Alabama ties - and we'll also examine the movies they inspired. True to the easygoing spirit of summer, these studies won't be as extensive as our spring series was - but that doesn't mean we won't have great coverage to offer. Jessica Sawyer Rigby | jsawyer@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/jesawyer/index.html

#Mockingbird trends after British educators remove famed Alabama novel, other American lit from school lists

Fri, 05/30/2014 - 10:22am
A campaign by Britain's education minister to put British basics back in schools -- purposely omitting American classics such as "To Kill a Mockingbird" and "Of Mice and Men" -- has some teachers concerned it "could lead to the narrowing of British minds." Kelly Kazek | kkazek@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/KKazek/index.html

John Grisham among finalists for UA's Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction, readers can vote online

Thu, 05/29/2014 - 1:42pm
This is the fourth year for the prize, inspired by Lee's lawyer hero Atticus Finch in her famed novel, "To Kill a Mockingbird." According to a release in the ABA Journal, the prize is awarded to the novel that "best exemplifies the role of lawyers in society." Melissa Brown | mbrown@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/mbrown104/index.html

Rep. Howard Sanderford presents check to Huntsville-Madison County Public Library part of multiyear pledge

Thu, 05/29/2014 - 1:21pm
The Huntsville-Madison County Public Library is getting help with expansion efforts from a local state representative. Amethyst Holmes | aholmes@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/amethystholmes/index.html

Superheroes, sci-fi fans and fantasy buffs converge at 2014 Alabama Phoenix Festival in Birmingham

Wed, 05/28/2014 - 3:32pm
On May 30-June 1, the Sheraton convention center will be filled with imaginative folks who have big dreams, common interests and a taste for the theatrical. "Star Wars" buffs, "Ghostbusters" fans, Trekkers, anime admirers, steampunk fashionistas, Lego lovers, "Dr. Who" fanatics … you name it. Mary Colurso | mcolurso@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/mcolurso/index.html

Alabama's Zelda Fitzgerald makes Huffington Post's list of '9 muses who inspired incredible literature'

Wed, 05/28/2014 - 3:03pm
Sayre, a native of Montgomery, was married to author F. Scott Fitzgerald, and the couple lived on Felder Avenue briefly from 1931 until 1932. Fitzgerald is known for his novels, including "This Side of Paradise," "The Great Gatsby" and "The Beautiful and the Damned." Amber Sutton | asutton@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/AmberAcker/index.html

Read 5 of Maya Angelou's most influential poems

Wed, 05/28/2014 - 12:15pm
Here is a list of five of her most popular poems: Mia Watkins | mwatkins@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/mswatkins1/index.html

Maya Angelou's most inspirational quotes about life, love and happiness

Wed, 05/28/2014 - 9:21am
Renowned author and poet Maya Angelou died at her home Wednesday, leaving behind a literary legacy of award-winning and inspirational work spanning more than half a century. Alex McDaniel http://connect.al.com/user/alexmcdaniel/index.html

Mason the Brave Tornado Dog from Alabama featured in new book from People magazine

Wed, 05/28/2014 - 9:00am
After being carried away by winds and missing for 17 days, Mason, a 2-year-old terrier mix crawled back to his Smithfield home on broken front legs. Kelly Kazek | kkazek@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/KKazek/index.html