Syndicate content
Literary news & reviews, Alabama authors, and book signings Movable Type Enterprise 4.29-advance
Updated: 9 min 50 sec ago

Harper Lee's Maycomb helped shape those of us who grew up in real-life Monroeville

2 hours 26 min ago
When this project began to take shape and "To Kill a Mockingbird" was the clear winner to read, I was as proud as I was excited. Simply put, "To Kill a Mockingbird" and Harper Lee shaped Monroeville, and Monroeville -- a real-life Maycomb -- shaped me. Jessica Sawyer Rigby | jsawyer@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/jesawyer/index.html

Lessons yet to learn as Red Clay Readers near the end of 'To Kill a Mockingbird'

Wed, 04/23/2014 - 11:59am
Atticus Finch has lost his case. Tom Robinson has died. "To Kill a Mockingbird," Harper Lee's masterpiece novel, is winding down. Several of the book's central conflicts have resolved, but there are lessons yet to learn. AL.com http://connect.al.com/user/bamaalstaff/index.html

Relating to Scout and recognizing injustice: No matter when you read 'To Kill a Mockingbird,' several themes resonate

Wed, 04/23/2014 - 10:03am
Whether you read "To Kill a Mockingbird" in the 1970s or the 1990s, the themes of race, poverty and injustice resonate. Kelsey Stein | kstein@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/kelseystein/index.html

President Obama gone wild: watch his reading rumpus at the White House Easter Egg Roll

Tue, 04/22/2014 - 4:20pm
Wild White House rumpus Tamara Ikenberg | tikenberg@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/Ikenberg/index.html

Best-selling French author to discuss 'spiritual secrets of walking' in UAB lecture on Saturday

Tue, 04/22/2014 - 11:46am
Fredéric Gros, a French author and professor, will give a free talk at the UAB Hulsey Recital Hall on Saturday based on his hit book, A Philosophy of Walking. Jesse Chambers | jchambers@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/jessechambers/index.html

Pratt City Library to hold emergency preparedness workshop on April 26

Mon, 04/21/2014 - 4:37pm
As the third anniversary of the April 2011 tornado outbreak approaches, an emergency preparedness workshop will be held at Pratt City Library on April 26. Nathan T. Prewett | nprewett@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/NPrewett/index.html

Hypocrisy rears its ugly head as Maycomb moves on from Tom Robinson's death

Mon, 04/21/2014 - 12:01pm
"To Kill a Mockingbird" is one of those books that can change a person. It certainly changed me when I first read it shortly after it was published. It helped to shape my idea of justice and fair play. Reading it again after all these years has made me realize just how much the book helped to change my perception of the world around me. Before reading Harper Lee's classic novel, I'm not sure I had ever really questioned the world around me. Kat Kennedy http://connect.al.com/user/katkennedy75/index.html

Red Clay Readers begin final week of 'To Kill a Mockingbird' study

Mon, 04/21/2014 - 9:09am
With just one week to go in a five-week study of "To Kill a Mockingbird," AL.com's Red Clay Readers are gearing up to finish the inaugural book club project with a bang. Jessica Sawyer Rigby | jsawyer@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/jesawyer/index.html

5 questions with Alabama author Roy Hoffman about his latest novel, 'Come Landfall'

Sun, 04/20/2014 - 7:00am
Hoffman will sign copies of his book at the Alabama Booksmith in Homewood and at the Alabama Writers Symposium in Monroeville. Bob Carlton | bcarlton@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/bcarlton/index.html

Teacher suspended over Game of Thrones T-shirt

Fri, 04/18/2014 - 10:53pm
A shirt got a professor suspended-- and he wasn't even wearing it. What would the Lannisters say? Cassie Fambro | cfambro@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/CassieFambro/index.html

High schoolers talk 'To Kill a Mockingbird,' agree that it still has a message for today’s young people

Fri, 04/18/2014 - 5:49pm
BIRMINGHAM, Alabama – “To Kill a Mockingbird” is required reading for most high schoolers in the United States. But does the novel—which sells a million copies a year and has been ranked in many polls as adults’ favorite book—resonate with... Cheryl Wray | cwray@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/cherylwray/index.html

Who would you cast in a 'To Kill a Mockingbird' remake?

Fri, 04/18/2014 - 1:09pm
Here’s who we would cast in four of the roles Mia Watkins | mwatkins@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/mswatkins1/index.html

Carolyn Haines book reading, signing to take place at Shelby Council Arts Gallery

Fri, 04/18/2014 - 1:07pm
Author Carolyn Haines will read and sign books at the Shelby Council Arts Gallery in Columbiana. Nathan T. Prewett | nprewett@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/NPrewett/index.html

'Tom's dead... Seventeen bullet holes in him': 2 hard-to-read 'Mockingbird' chapters offer a moment to learn

Fri, 04/18/2014 - 12:01pm
Atticus Finch was a hero, AL.com's Anthony Cook argues -- but not because he was heroic. Alex Walsh | awalsh@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/awalsh_aldotcom/index.html

Who is Harper Lee? 5 things we know for sure, for Red Clay Readers and other fans of 'Mockingbird'

Fri, 04/18/2014 - 11:57am
What do we really know about the Monroeville native, born Nelle Harper Lee on April 28, 1926? As AL.com's Red Clay Readers group continues its exploration of "To Kill a Mockingbird," it's the perfect time to identify some key facts. Mary Colurso | mcolurso@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/mcolurso/index.html

Birmingham Public Library to take part in World Book Night on April 23

Fri, 04/18/2014 - 11:39am
The Birmingham Public Library will take part in World Book Night, an event where free books are given away. Nathan T. Prewett | nprewett@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/NPrewett/index.html

In 'Sandlot Baseball,' Warren St. John discovers diamonds in the rough on the back roads of Alabama

Thu, 04/17/2014 - 2:50pm
St. John writes about Hale County's Newbern Tigers and Florence's Alabama Slammers in April-May issue of Garden & Gun magazine. Bob Carlton | bcarlton@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/bcarlton/index.html

The ineffectual power of the press in 'To Kill a Mockingbird'

Thu, 04/17/2014 - 8:21am
Journalism is almost as misbegotten as the Ewell clan, at least as it was practiced in mythical Maycomb, Ala., as imagined by Harper Lee. Mike Marshall | mmarshall@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/mmarshal/index.html

Young North Alabama author will present paranormal novels at Alabama Book Festival this weekend

Wed, 04/16/2014 - 2:56pm
NEW HOPE, Alabama – Amanda Porter got the writing bug in high school, and most of those early stories “will never see the light of day,” she said. But there was one – about a young Alabama girl – that... Anna Claire Vollers http://connect.al.com/user/avollers/index.html

Tom Robinson's fate: Jem Finch learns that the world isn't always fair

Wed, 04/16/2014 - 12:00pm
AL.com's Red Clay Readers, in partnership with the Alabama Center for Literary Arts, is a book club designed to take a fresh look at a Southern classic with the help of our readers. Today we look at Chapters 21 and 22 of "To Kill a Mockingbird." Jon Reed | jreed@al.com http://connect.al.com/user/jondavidreed/index.html